Wearing a Mask at a Cemetery?


Is the government going too far when you’re asked to wear a mask outside at a cemetery? That was the case recently when I was walking my dog at Mission City Memorial Park Cemetery in Santa Clara, California. At the time I was stopped, there was not one person within 100 yards of me, much less 6 feet – maybe 6 feet underground!

Mission City Memorial Park – Santa Clara, California

This is the same cemetery where many times, I have reported residents walking their dogs off leash and/or worse using the cemetery as a dog park to train their dog. When I approach the employees there, I am always told there is nothing they can do.

Near closing time for the day, I was stopped by a Santa Clara Parks and Recreation employee who drove her car up to us and asked if I had a mask. Instead of simply telling me the cemetery is near closing time, and you need to start to make your way out, this “Karen” went on to explain that the wear a mask sign is posted at the cemetery entrance. So is the “dogs must be on leash” ordinance that is not ever, if rarely, enforced. It was only after I didn’t put the mask on that she, in fact, told me the cemetery was closing and I had to leave.

At the same time she went out of her way to stop me, there was a man lying face down on the grass in the front of the cemetery without a mask. I believe in social distancing and in wearing masks where appropriate such as indoors when you’re around others, but outside in a cemetery? Can’t we at least agree that dead people can’t get Covid-19.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment